About SEPA

SEPA Migration


The migration process to SEPA is made up of three major steps:

  • Since 1 August 2014, all euro countries have replaced national euro credit transfers and direct debits (except so-called ‘niche products’) by SEPA Credit Transfer (SCT) and SEPA Direct Debit (SDD). Since this date, the SEPA migration is therefore mostly completed.
  • 1 February 2016 marks the end of all transitional exemptions in EU Member States (such as the derogation for the International Bank Account Number – IBAN – and for ‘niche products’).
  • Lastly, non-euro countries have to comply with the SEPA Regulation by 31 October 2016.

During the migration process (which is now mostly over), the EPC Newsletter regularly published the latest data available regarding migration to SEPA. It also highlighted lessons learnt by individual businesses and public administrations that have successfully implemented the SEPA payment schemes based on technical standards developed by international standards bodies such as the International Organization for Standardization (ISO). The relevant Newsletter articles can be found in the sources included at the end of this page.

Free EPC newsletter
Blog and Discussion Board
Read more
Follow us

Latest Tweet

Read this interesting itw with @DHUSACorp representative regarding #InstantPayments, #PSD2 and #blockchain https://t.co/2maUXGlc9t