Council Representing EU Member States Adopts SEPA Regulation. This Reg...

Council Representing EU Member States Adopts SEPA Regulation. This Regulation Effectively Mandates Migration to SEPA by 1 February 2014 in the Euro Area.

24 October 13

Share This

On 28 February 2012, the Council of the European Union ( ) (the Council) representing Member States adopted the 'Regulation establishing technical and business requirements for credit transfers and direct debits in euro and amending Regulation (EC) No 924/2009' (the Regulation). The European Parliament adopted this Regulation on 14 February 2012. Under the ordinary legislative procedure (formerly known as co-decision), legislation is adopted by the Council (made up of representatives of the 27 Member States) and the European Parliament (made up of 754 directly elected members).

The  Regulation defines 1 February 2014 as the deadline in the euro area for compliance with the core provisions of this Regulation. Effectively, this means that as of this date, existing national euro credit transfer and direct debit schemes will be replaced by Credit Transfer ( ) and Direct Debit ( ).

For details, please see links below.

Your reactions

If you would like to comment on this article, please identify yourself with your first and last name. Your name will appear next to your comment. Email addresses will not be published. Please note that by accessing or contributing to the discussion you agree to abide by the EPC website conditions of use.