New EPC Chair Javier Santamaría and EPC Vice Chair Günther Gall Take O...

New EPC Chair Javier Santamaría and EPC Vice Chair Günther Gall Take Office on 20 June 2012.

24 October 13

Share This

At its meeting on 22 March 2012, the Plenary elected Javier Santamaría as Chair and Günther Gall as Vice Chair for a two year term in office commencing on 20 June 2012. The Plenary is the decision-making body of the . Mr Santamaría and Mr Gall succeed former Chair Gerard Hartsink and former Vice Chair Claude Brun, whose mandates ended in June 2012.

Javier Santamaría has served as a member of the Plenary since the creation of the in 2002. Since 2009, Mr Santamaría also chaired the Payment Schemes Working Group. Mr Santamaría, former Head of Operations and Business Services, is Senior Vice President with Banco Santander. He represents the bank in several organisations related to payment systems and transaction banking in addition to the : Mr Santamaría is a member of the Board of the Euro Banking Association, a Director of the SWIFT (Society for Worldwide Interbank Financial Telecommunication) Board and of the Iberpay Board. He also continues to be actively involved in academic matters.


Javier Santamaría

Vice Chair

Günther Gall

Günther Gall is a senior banker with more than forty years of experience in managing all aspects of payments. He has been a member of the Plenary since 2002. In the , Mr Gall represents Raiffeisen Zentralbank Group, Vienna. He is an advisor to the board of Raiffeisen Zentralbank Group. Having previously served as Head of Transaction Services, Mr Gall is now Executive Director at Raiffeisen Bank International Group, a subsidiary of Raiffeisen Zentralbank Group. Until mid 2012, he was a Director of the SWIFT Board and a member of the Board of the Euro Banking Association. He chaired the Payment Systems Working Group of the European Association of Co-operative Banks and co-chaired the global Payment Market Practice Group of SWIFT.

Chair Javier Santamaría comments: "I would like to express my respect and gratitude for the invaluable contributions of Gerard Hartsink and Claude Brun. Their leadership over many years has been instrumental in achieving the goal of the ; namely, to support and promote the Single Euro Payments Area ( ). I am very honoured to have the opportunity to continue this important work together with the members and in close dialogue with all stakeholders."

Vice Chair Günther Gall adds: "I very much look forward to supporting the in this new role and at this juncture in the process. Our efforts will continue to aim at making the best possible payment experience for all market participants."

Your reactions

If you would like to comment on this article, please identify yourself with your first and last name. Your name will appear next to your comment. Email addresses will not be published. Please note that by accessing or contributing to the discussion you agree to abide by the EPC website conditions of use.