

[X] Public – [] Internal Use – [] Confidential – [] Strictest Confidence Distribution: N/A

EPC LIST OF SEPA SCHEME COUNTRIES

1. Background

This document lists the countries and territories which are part of the geographical scope of the Single Euro Payment Area (SEPA) Schemes. The countries and territories are recognised by their ISO codes to be used in BICs and IBANs as required for the SEPA Schemes.

2. EU/EEA countries

SEPA consists of the 28 European Union (EU) countries and the additional 3 European Economic Area (EEA) countries.

3. EU Territories under Article 355 of the EU Treaty

There are a number of territories that are considered to be part of the EU and others in which the Treaties do not apply or only partially apply, according to Article 355 of the Treaty on the Functioning of the European Union (TFEU). Those territories where the provisions of the Treaties shall apply in their entirety are part of SEPA. Please refer to Article 355 (1), (3) and (4) of Article 355 of the TFEU in this context for those territories where the provisions of the Treaties shall apply in their entirety.

4. Countries or territories outside the EU and the EEA

As resolved by the EPC Plenary between March 2006 and December 2013, Switzerland, Monaco, the French collectivities of 'Mayotte'¹ and 'Saint-Pierre-et-Miquelon' as well as San Marino had become part of the geographical scope of the SEPA Schemes. Eligible local institutions from these countries or territories are permitted to adhere to the SEPA Schemes in accordance with the relevant EPC adherence procedure.

Furthermore, the British Crown Dependencies of Guernsey², Jersey and the Isle of Man have become part of the geographical scope of the SEPA Schemes with effect from 1 May 2016.

It is assumed that legislation adopted for the EEA (including Regulation (EU) No 260/2012³) only fully and directly applies to payment transactions between institutions located within the EU and the EEA (including the territories under category 3 above).

5. List of countries and territories which are part of the jurisdictional scope of the SEPA Schemes and their ISO country and currency codes

¹ The French overseas territory of Mayotte subsequently changed its status and became an outermost region of the European Union on 1 January 2014.

² Reference is made to the island of Guernsey.

³ of the European Parliament and of the Council of 14 March 2012 establishing technical and business requirements for credit transfers and direct debits in euro and amending Regulation (EC) No 924/2009 (the SEPA Regulation)



In SEPA messages, countries are denominated by their ISO country codes contained in the BICs and the IBANs. The list presents the name of the countries or territories with the corresponding ISO country and currency codes.

Country/territory	Name according to EU interinstitutional style guide						
BIC	Country code used	Country code used in <u>BICs</u> according to ISO 3166-1: 2006					
IBAN	Country code used in <u>IBANs</u>						
Currency code	Currency code according to ISO 4127						
	Country/territory	BIC	IBAN	Currency code			
	Åland Islands	FI	FI	EUR			
	Austria	AT	AT	EUR			
	Azores	PT	PT	EUR			
	Belgium	BE	BE	EUR			
	Bulgaria	BG	BG	BGN			
	Canary Islands	ES	ES	EUR			
	Croatia	HR	HR	HRK			
	Cyprus	СҮ	СҮ	EUR			
	Czech Republic	CZ	CZ	CZK			
	Denmark	DK	DK	DKK			
	Estonia	EE	EE	EUR			
	Finland	FI	FI	EUR			
	France	FR	FR	EUR			
	French Guiana	GF	FR	EUR			
	Germany	DE	DE	EUR			
	Gibraltar	GI	GI	GIP			
	Greece	GR	GR	EUR			
	Guadeloupe	GP	FR	EUR			
	Guernsey	GG	GB	GBP			
	Hungary	HU	HU	HUF			
	Iceland	IS	IS	ISK			
	Ireland	IE	IE	EUR			
	Isle of Man	IM	GB	GBP			
	Italy	IT	IT	EUR			
	Jersey	JE	GB	GBP			
	Latvia	LV	LV	EUR			
	Liechtenstein	LI	LI	CHF			
	Lithuania	LT	LT	EUR			

Country/territory	BIC	IBAN	Currency code
Luxembourg	LU	LU	EUR
Madeira	PT	PT	EUR
Malta	MT	MT	EUR
Martinique	MQ	FR	EUR
Mayotte	ΥT	FR	EUR
Monaco	MC	MC	EUR
Netherlands	NL	NL	EUR
Norway	NO	NO	NOK
Poland	PL	PL	PLN
Portugal	PT	PT	EUR
Réunion	RE	FR	EUR
Romania	RO	RO	RON
Saint Barthélemy	BL	FR	EUR
Saint Martin (French part)	MF	FR	EUR
Saint Pierre and Miquelon	PM	FR	EUR
San Marino	SM	SM	EUR
Slovakia	SK	SK	EUR
Slovenia	SI	SI	EUR
Spain	ES	ES	EUR
Sweden	SE	SE	SEK
Switzerland	СН	СН	CHF
United Kingdom	GB	GB	GBP