EPC list of countries in the SEPA Schemes geographical scope

EPC409-09 Version 2.6

Date issued: 24 January 2020

Public



European Payments Council AISBL, Cours Saint-Michel 30 B-1040 Brussels T +32 2 733 35 33 Enterprise N°0873.268.927 secretariat@epc-cep.eu

EPC list of countries and territories included in the SEPA Schemes' geographical scope

1 Background

This document clarifies the countries and territories which are part of the geographical scope of the Single Euro Payment Area (SEPA) Schemes. The countries and territories are recognised by their ISO codes, to be used in BICs and IBANs as required for the SEPA Schemes.

2 EU, EEA and non-EEA SEPA countries

SEPA mainly consists of:

- 27 Member States of the European Union (EU)
- 3 countries of the European Economic Area (EEA)
- 6 non-EEA countries, to which the geographical scope has been extended

EU/EEA SEPA Countries	Non-EEA SEPA Countries
Austria	Andorra
Belgium	Monaco
Bulgaria	San Marino
Croatia	Switzerland
Cyprus	United Kingdom
Czech Republic	Vatican City State
Denmark	
Estonia	
Finland	
France	
Germany	
Greece	
Hungary	
Iceland	

www.epc-cep.eu 1/5



Ireland	
Italy	
Latvia	
Liechtenstein	
Lithuania	
Luxembourg	
Malta	
Netherlands	
Norway	
Poland	
Portugal	
Romania	
Slovakia	
Slovenia	
Spain	
Sweden	
	Non-EEA Territories:
	Mayotte, Saint-Pierre-et- Miquelon, Guernsey, Jersey, Isle of Man

3 SEPA Countries or territories outside the EU and the EEA

As resolved by the EPC Plenary between March 2006 and December 2013, Switzerland, Monaco, the French collectivities of Mayotte¹ and Saint-Pierre-et-Miquelon, as well as San Marino had become part of the geographical scope of the SEPA Schemes.

Additionally, the British Crown Dependencies of Guernsey², Jersey and the Isle of Man were included within the geographical scope of the SEPA Schemes with effect from 1 May 2016.

With effect from 1 March 2019, the Principality of Andorra as well as the Vatican City State / Holy See will be part of the geographical scope of the SEPA Schemes.

As a result of Brexit, by decision of the EPC board on the 7 March 2019, the United Kingdom is set to remain part of the SEPA geographical scope, as of the 1 February 2020.

www.epc-cep.eu 2/5

¹ The French overseas territory of Mayotte subsequently changed its status and became an outermost region of the European Union on 1 January 2014.

² Reference is made to the island of Guernsey.

EPC List – Countries in the SEPA Schemes geographical scope 24 January 2020



Eligible local institutions from these countries or territories are permitted to adhere to the SEPA Schemes in accordance with the relevant EPC adherence procedure.³

It is assumed that legislation adopted for the EEA (including Regulation (EU) No 260/20124) only fully and directly applies to payment transactions between institutions located within the EU and the EEA (including the territories under category 3 above).

For non-EEA SEPA countries, the EPC – after their inclusion within the SEPA geographical scope, provides for a periodical review process, aiming at assessing the level of continuous compliance with the relevant legislation applicable.

4 EU Territories under Article 355 of the EU Treaty

There are a number of territories that are considered to be part of the EU and others in which the Treaties do not apply or only partially apply, according to Article 355 of the Treaty on the Functioning of the European Union (TFEU).

Those territories where the provisions of the Treaties shall apply in their entirety are part of SEPA. Please refer to Article 355 (1), (3) and (4) of Article 355 of the TFEU in this context for those territories where the provisions of the Treaties shall apply in their entirety.

5 List of countries and territories which are part of the jurisdictional scope of the SEPA Schemes and their ISO country and currency codes

In SEPA messages, countries are denominated by their ISO country codes contained in the BICs and the IBANs. The list presents the name of the countries or territories with the corresponding ISO country and currency codes.

Country/territory	Name according to EU interinstitutional style guide
BIC	Country code used in BICs according to ISO 3166
IBAN	Country code used in <u>IBANs</u> according to <u>ISO 3166</u>
Currency code	Currency code according to <u>ISO 4217</u>

Country/territory	BIC	IBAN	Currency code
Åland Islands	FI	FI	EUR
Andorra	AD	AD	EUR
Austria	AT	AT	EUR
Azores	PT	PT	EUR
Belgium	BE	BE	EUR
Bulgaria	BG	BG	BGN
Canary Islands	ES	ES	EUR

³ It should be noted that the local institution from the Vatican City State / Holy See is scheduled to complete the implementation of the IBAN standard by November 2019.

www.epc-cep.eu 3/5

⁴ of the European Parliament and of the Council of 14 March 2012 establishing technical and business requirements for credit transfers and direct debits in euro and amending Regulation (EC) No 924/2009 (the SEPA Regulation)



Country/territory	BIC	IBAN	Currency code
Croatia	HR	HR	HRK
Cyprus	CY	CY	EUR
Czech Republic	CZ	CZ	CZK
Denmark	DK	DK	DKK
Estonia	EE	EE	EUR
Finland	FI	FI	EUR
France	FR	FR	EUR
French Guiana	GF	FR	EUR
Germany	DE	DE	EUR
Gibraltar	GI	GI	GIP
Greece	GR	GR	EUR
Guadeloupe	GP	FR	EUR
Guernsey	GG	GB	GBP
Hungary	HU	HU	HUF
Iceland	IS	IS	ISK
Ireland	IE	IE	EUR
Isle of Man	IM	GB	GBP
Italy	IT	IT	EUR
Jersey	JE	GB	GBP
Latvia	LV	LV	EUR
Liechtenstein	LI	LI	CHF
Lithuania	LT	LT	EUR
Luxembourg	LU	LU	EUR
Madeira	PT	PT	EUR
Malta	MT	MT	EUR
Martinique	MQ	FR	EUR
Mayotte	YT	FR	EUR
Monaco	MC	MC	EUR
Netherlands	NL	NL	EUR
Norway	NO	NO	NOK
Poland	PL	PL	PLN
Portugal	PT	PT	EUR

www.epc-cep.eu 4/5



Country/territory	BIC	IBAN	Currency code
Réunion	RE	FR	EUR
Romania	RO	RO	RON
Saint Barthélemy	BL	FR	EUR
Saint Martin (French part)	MF	FR	EUR
Saint Pierre and Miquelon	PM	FR	EUR
San Marino	SM	SM	EUR
Slovakia	SK	SK	EUR
Slovenia	SI	SI	EUR
Spain	ES	ES	EUR
Sweden	SE	SE	SEK
Switzerland	СН	СН	CHF
United Kingdom	GB	GB	GBP
Vatican City State	VA	VA	EUR

www.epc-cep.eu 5/5